I am dean of the College of Liberal Arts and a professor of political science at the University of Minnesota. My research interests include political parties, elections and voting, legislative-executive relations, divided government, campaign finance, American political development, and the intersection of politics and economics. Prior to my position at Minnesota, for over 20 years I was on the faculty of the political science department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where I also served as department chair for 7 years. At Wisconsin, I held the Glenn B. and Cleone Orr Hawkins Professorship, was a Jeffrey and Susanne Lyons Family Faculty Fellow, and received the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award and the Dean’s Service Award. Earlier, I was a faculty member in the government department at the University of Texas at Austin and also taught and served as a research associate at the Harvard Business School. I have served as president of the political organizations and political parties section of the American Political Science Association, and received that organization’s Emerging Scholar Award. My undergraduate degree in history and political science is from Clark University (Worcester, MA) and my Ph.D. in political science is from MIT.

CV / Twitter / Blog (on higher ed, liberal arts)
Democratic nomination 2020 slidedeck (entrance/exit polls through March 10 contests)
PollyVote (I participated in the PollyVote forecast panel for the 2020 and 2016 elections)
9th edition of The Enduring Debate (2023) now available

101 Pleasant Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455